Friday, September 2, 2011

Champion Mardis Cyclistes 2010 : Jean-Francois Laroche

  • The 2010 season is marked by some great individual efforts by Eric Boily in stage 2, David Veilleux  in stage 4, Francoise Parisien in stage 5 and Pierrick Naud in stage 6 who all win their respective stages in solo break away fashion.
  • Unlike his 2007 and 2008 championship seasons, Jean-Francois Laroche  does not win a single stage in 2010 but places consistently and wins enough sprint points to champion the Mardis Cyclistes series.
  • Defending champion Martin Gilbert opens the season with a stage 1 bunch sprint victory and repeats in stage 3 before heading off to race in Europe.
  • Solo breaks aside, both Parisien and Veilleux take stages 7 and 9 respectively by winning the bunch sprint. Francois Parisien out sprints Hugo Houle and wins stage 7 as David Veilleux wins the bunch sprint in the 9th over Laroche and Naud.
  • Garneau-Club Chaussures French import Aurélien Passeron makes his presence felt in the 8th stage by winning a closely contested bunch sprint in the rain over Pierrick Naud and Mathieu Roy as Jean-Francois Laroche flats three times in the same stage.
  • Benjamin Martel of the newly formed Canondale GTS Sprint team wins stage 10 and perhaps gives us a glimpse of things to come in 2011.

         Final Standings:


    Post a Comment

    Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.