Friday, September 2, 2011

Champion Mardis Cyclistes 2009 : Martin Gilbert

Click here to open the 2009 web gallery

  • Hugo Houle makes a grand entrance in Stage 1 winning a mud fest in the rain in dramatic fashion to start the season.
  • Floyd Landis makes a guest appearance in Stage 2 drawing large crowds to see the event but is barely visible sitting in the peleton right through to the end.
  • Jean-Sebastien Perron breaks away and wins stage 4 in a torrential downpour.
  • After consecutive last lap crashes, several racers point the finger at Erik Lyman prompting a visit from federation director Louis Barbeau.
  • Erik Lyman defends himself in eloquent fashion by publishing the following news brief.

  • Martin Gilbert dominates the series winning Stages 2,3,5,6,7 and 8 and is crowned Mardis Cyclistes champion in 2009.
  • Defending champion Jean-Francois Laroche battles hard as usual all season long but settles for second place.
  • Hugo Houle fades after a mid season crash in Stage 6 but moves up two spots from last year and finishes third.
  • Maxime Vives is fourth.
  • Guillaume Boivin out sprints Martin Gilbert to win the final stage collecting a $5000.00 purse for berating the course record time and finishes fifth.
  • David Vailleux breaks away winning Stage nine and finishes sixth.
  • Michael Joannisse is seventh
  • Pierre-Olivier Boily is eighth.
  • Keven Lacombe is ninth.
  • Huges Lapointe is tenth.


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.